If You Asked Me I Might Say

So slow to take away from this,
what we felt to give,
what we gave,
what we cannot accept
to give
and when he said my name
I turned because I wanted to
respond but that’s the
trouble with common names:
someone is always calling for
you some time.

And what I meant to say
to you was that I left the
house too early and forgot
my shoes and the keys and
even the letters I needed to mail out
to everyone.

And what was in the letters
were the words I wanted
so much to give and to
have to give and to know that
I could give.

And what I didn’t do
was turn around, retrace my steps,
find them again, and tell you
that I had the word finally and
you had to
accept because it was
a gift.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

