A Spell to Raise Your Other

To plant your feet under

will only serve

to rot you at the roots.

 

And I cannot promise

that in this world

I will love you but

in another

I might, I really might.

 

You cast stones across

the lake hoping

that skips across water

were the same as walking.

 

And I won’t pretend

that I didn’t wake

up some nights

asking for you

to come back up breathing

I did, I really did.

 

To let your body sink

where the fishes go

will only turn you wild.

 

And I never said

that I would raise

your body from

the dead like

you begged me to

I didn’t, I really didn’t.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

