Sci-fi Is My Playlist

Over the past weekend, I managed to write 10,000 words. It was two stories and I’d had the ideas for a while, just hadn’t put them to page, but still it was a lot and I am grateful. They are both pieces of the sci-fi novel-in-stories that I’ve been working on and both take traditional genre tropes and try to recreate them into something new (one of the goals of the novel is to view a sci-fi concept over time and styles). The stories turned out unexpected and better than I could have hoped (maybe, I still have new draft glass on, though…)

As I was writing, I found myself playing certain songs on loops. So, because I’m always thankful for the way music can help me to generate words, I thought I’d again put a “playlist” of what I was listening to while I wrote these two stories. I’ve linked to available versions of the songs where there is an official version available.

1.) Drawn to the Blood by: Sufjan Stevens

2.) Cough Cough by: Everything Everything

3.) Bite Down by: Bastille (featuring Haim)

4.) Anywhere on this Road by: Lhasa

5.) Used by: Wyvern Lingo

6.) Death by: The Dodos

7.) Blood by: Algiers

8.) Plasma by: Kimmo Pohjonen and Kronos Quartet

9.) I Can See the Future by: Iran

10.) Hellhound on My Trail by: Robert Johnson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

