Story Notes #1

So I love story notes when authors give them. I’m the type of person that reads introductions, footnotes, and acknowledgments pages. Thus, for fun (basically my work break today), I’d give some context to some of my stories and poems.

 

Telling Ghost Stories, published by Nonbinary Review, was written as an ode to one of my favorite types of ghost/fairy stories. It includes one of my favorite jokes I’ve ever made. It also includes weird reinterpretations of three stories I also wrote (A Room for Lost Things—published at Diabolical Plots, Seven Years of Crashing Waves—published at Cartagena, and one that has not yet found its home). Before this came together, though, the images first came to me while walking around UW-Madison’s campus, at night, after a concert with a friend. The place that directly inspired the story no longer exists, which is a kind of ghost story in itself.

 

Lover, I’ll be Waiting, published by Wyvern Lit, was written as a creative response in one of my favorite classes I’ve taken (the amazing Charo D’Etcheverry’s course on Japanese ghost stories). Each of the retold tales within this piece started with a real tale-type. I think there are something like 30 references in this story. This was the first story I ever read aloud at my MFA program.
The First to Cross the Bridge, published by The Stoneslide Corrective, was the first story I ever wrote in college. The original draft is only 4 pages. It went through something like 12 and a half revisions before being picked up (and at such a wonderful place!).  Every one of the italicized sections connects back to another story I wrote. My thesis during undergrad was a collection of interlinked stories about the way that violence changes the way we both consume and tell stories. This was one of what I considered the “holding” stories that linked and looped into the other stories without making direct connections with the main act of the novel. This story also plays on one of my favorite folkloric tale-types. This story is one that means so much to me, for so many different reasons. It also has my first ever textual shoutout to my beloved Pistons. So there’s that, too.

 

I don’t know if I’ll do these notes again. But it was fun. So maybe?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

